A Perfect Margarita


Ingredients

2 oz Good Blanco Tequila
¾ oz Cointreau or a Good Triple Sec
¾ oz Lime Juice
¼ oz Agave Syrup (1 part Agave Syrup. 1 part Water)
Salt (optional)

What To Do

If you want salt, rub the rim of the glass with the citrus end of a sliced lime. Roll the glass over some salt. Combine all ingredients into a shaker. Shake well with ice and strain into the chilled rimmed coupe. Garnish with a lime wheel. Serve.

A Few Words

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I suppose today is the perfect time to post how I make a standard margarita. I’ve had many a margarita in my life and I feel this is the best ratio for a perfectly balanced drink. The key to a great margarita, like most drinks, is to not use crappy spirits. It doesn’t need to be a $100 bottle of tequila, but it also definitely shouldn’t be a $8 jug of the cheap stuff. When I’m using a good tequila, I like to serve my margaritas ‘up’ so the ice doesn’t dilute the cocktail too much as you’re usually drinking them on a hot day. Be safe tonight! Cheers!


 

